Jamaica’s Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and her coach Stephen Francis have been nominated for awards at the inaugural Panam Sports Awards to be held in December.

Fraser-Pryce, a two-time Olympic gold medallist, has been nominated in two categories – the Best Female Athlete and the Changemaker – while Francis is a nominee for the Best Coach.

Fraser-Pryce produced one of the highlights of the fourth day of track and field in Lima, Peru on August 9 by adding the Pan American Games 200m title to her illustrious collection with a 22.43 (-0.1 m/s) performance to break the previous games record of 22.45 set by USA’s Evelyn Ashford in 1979.

The 32-year-old from Kingston and multiple Olympic and world champion, dominated the race entirely, running a smooth curve and finishing off with her traditional and powerful stride, even relaxing a bit over the last 10 metres.

More than 40 athletes and coaches from Lima 2019 have been nominated across nine categories, and now it’s up to the public to vote for their favourites to help determine who will be awarded at the ceremony.

Members of the public should visit www.panamsports.org/vote to vote for their favourite athletes. Voting is now officially open and will close on November 30.

The winners will be announced during the live ceremony and celebration of the Panam Sports Awards on December 13 in Fort Lauderdale, United States. The show will be broadcast live on the Panam Sports Channel.

The nominees and invited guests will be treated to a red carpet and cocktail reception, live music and an entertaining ceremony showcasing the best of the best of sport in the Americas.

The Nominees for the inaugural Panam Sports Awards are:

Best Male Athlete
Anderson Peters (GRN), Francisco Barretto (BRA), Mijain Lopez (CUB), Nicholas Paul (TTO), Ruben Limardo (VEN)

Best Female Athlete
Chloe Dygert (USA), Delfina Pignatiello (ARG), Paola Longoria (MEX), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM), Yulimar Rojas (VEN)

Best Men’s Team
Athletics 4x400m Relay (COL), Baseball (PUR), Basketball (ARG), Beach Volleyball (CHI)

Best Women’s Team
Artistic Swimming (CAN), Handball (BRA), Hockey (ARG), Softball (USA)

NextGen (U-20 Male)
Alison dos Santos (BRA), Andrew Abruzzo (USA), Daniel Restrepo (COL), Gabriel Rosillo (CUB), Patricio Font (MEX)

NextGen (U-20 Female)
Adriana Diaz (PUR), Daniella Rosas (PER), Delfina Pignatiello (ARG), Evita Griskenas (USA), Katherin Nuevo (CUB), Yenny Sinisterra (COL)

Marco Oneto (CHI), Mariana Pajon (COL), Jennifer Dahlgren (ARG), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)

Panam Sports Values
Claudio Biekarck (BRA), Julio Castillo (ECU), Krystina Alogbo (CAN), Luis Scola (ARG), Nathan Adrian (USA)

Best Coach
Deysiana Mena (CRC), Gabriel Aramburu (PER), Ivan Bautista (MEX), Rolando Acebal (CUB), Stephen Francis (JAM)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here